Draft Video with Storyboard

20 Apr

Storyboard for Draft Video

Video

Audio

Title   Page/Introduction Text:  Study   Abroad with Heather Wilson
[Page Turn]

Interview

Roberta Kelly and Tallie Matteson
[Page Turn]

Interview

Lauren Sigfusson
[Page Turn]

Interview

Roberta Kelly and Tallie   Matteson
[Page Turn]

Interview

Heather Wilson (ME)
[Page Turn]

Interview

Lauren Sigfusson
Student   Footage My voice, “I’ll see you abroad!”

Draft Video Post

            Premiere is the most difficult of all the programs we’ve learned this semester but it’s exciting to see everything come together.

I focused the content of my video on studying abroad, since I’m studying abroad in the fall I wanted to connect that experience to the skills I’ve gained throughout my college experience.  I did this by interviewing a faculty member, Roberta Kelly, who advises my club, the Association of Women in Communication (AWC).  I’m the treasure for AWC and it’s been a big part of my life for the last two years.  I also interviewed Tallie Matteson, the President of AWC, because she’s my peer who I’ve also interacted with in a professional setting.  Their interview discussed how my time spent with AWC will prepare me for my study abroad experience.

To further connect the study abroad aspect I interviewed a woman from Washington State University (WSU) who is also studying abroad with the same program.  In the interview I asked what she wanted to get out of her study abroad experience and then discussed what I wanted to achieve.

The transitions I used for the video are ‘page turn’ my thought was the video resembled a chapter in my life.  In the beginning I added a title slide to introduce the topic.

I would like to change a lot with my video; underlay music, mess around with transitions, and add text to introduce different sections of the video plus much more.  Creating my draft video was a challenge because I was constrained to the lab hours, which didn’t provide enough time for me to do my best work.  I’m looking forward to working on the final version, with the professor’s help I was able to download a different version of Premiere and I can work at home into the wee hours of the night!

4 Responses to “Draft Video with Storyboard”

  1. empoweringcreations April 24, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Hi Heather

    First off I just want to say that I think that studying abroad is a great topic for you. I studied abroad in Australia last year, so I immediately became interested in your story. I think that if you made the focus more about what you’re expecting to do there, and interview more people that have been abroad, this could be a really captivating story for other students who are interested in studying in another country. I think also if you could incorporate some music in some way, it might make your audience more interested. Also if you could enhance the volume of Roberta’s voice, it would benefit you for the final. She seems to be much quieter than you and the other girl.

    Also, I understand that topic of your blog is obviously you, but you should think about cutting out the scene that describes what you do at the office, and just focus more specifically on actually going abroad, it would create more of an actual story as opposed to just telling us about you. (Just a thought, totally don’t need to if you like what you have now.)

    Overall, I think you have a great start to the video, and I’m excited what you incorporate for your final!

  2. MissConnect April 24, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    From what I see so far it looks like your doing a pretty good job, i really like the transitions and the idea of which you are creating the video about. I to am looking into doing study abroad so this is a very beneficial video for me. Moreover, from your draft i can see that your on the right track only thing i would suggest is maybe adding some background music during the parts where your speaking at the end by yourself. Also i would make the transition at 2:14 a little smoother it seemed a little choppy when going to the next scene. Other than that and the things you mentioned you already plan to change i think your on the right track

  3. heatheramwilson April 24, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    The comments written by my peers were helpful and I plan to implement a lot of their suggestions. I definitely want to smooth out the transitions, underlay background music and focus on smoothing out the story to create more of a focus on study abroad. I want to cut out the scene in the office and add more scenes of me showing off my leadership skills with music in the background. Then explain a lot of what I want to portray by inserting title slides. I also want to include a better conclusion to leave the viewer happy with the story they experienced. I’m excited to work on the final project because I finally have Premiere on my computer and I can work from home, which I know will suck up a lot of my free time, but that’s okay I want my final project to be perfect! Wish me luck;)

  4. awkwardbydesign April 24, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    First off, I really like the topic. You did a good job bringing in the right people to interview on this issue and in organizing the information. It was also good the way you bookended the video with footage of students on the mall. The only thing I think could use some work are the transitions. There are a few times were one person is cut off in the middle of speaking as you go from one clip to another. It would be a good idea to find a natural place to stop a clip before moving onto the next one.

Leave a comment