Draft of Audio Story

7 Mar

First Draft of Audio Story

            Audition a word I once associated with theatre arts and my time spent in Daggy Hall, I now associate this word with the time I spent bent over my computer trying to create an audio masterpiece.  This assignment wasn’t as stressful as the past assignments but it took me a little longer to understand the basic pieces of the software.

            I started with the intention of just interviewing my friends with questions and piecing together their various answers.  After interviewing my little sister, Meagan Wilson, I decided this wasn’t the direction I really wanted to go.  The only question I want to ask is, “How do you know me (Heather Wilson)?”  My blog is about my life after graduation and I thought it would be fitting to interview the people who have shaped my life while studying at WSU.

            To interview my friends at WSU I’m just going throughout my day and asking influential people in my life how they know me.  By doing this I want to show through an audio story where and how I’m involved on campus through my friends.  I think it’s better for other people to speak of your involvement, rather than spouting out a long resume and losing your listener because it’s monotonous.

            For my draft, I interviewed Meagan and my friend/co-worker Samantha Hege.  For my final version I plan to include my supervisor from Residence Life, Matthew Jeffries, one of my co-workers from UREC Marketing and possibly someone from my club the Association of Women in Communication.  I think this would create a well-rounded audio story.  I want to also underlay the audio story with music through the whole interview.  I only placed a small section of music at the beginning and I don’t know if I like it.  What do you think?  Hopefully you’ll enjoy my draft and help me to make an even better final version.

5 Responses to “Draft of Audio Story”

  1. accollier March 14, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    Hello!

    Alright so I think the concept you have of interviewing people close to you; and then through their eyes you are portrayed to the listener. I also like how the people that you chose, or are going to have in your final, are from a variety of different associations of yours. You have a family member, and various different friends.

    I noticed a couple things in your draft that I think you could polish a bit for the final. When the first person is talking, Samantha, I could hear what she said in the beginning, but then at the end I couldn’t clearly tell what she was saying anymore.

    I also noticed that you mentioned your sister, or her name at least three times. I think that she only needs to be introduced as your sister once. You also said, in the beginning of her interview, that you have known her all your life; I think that is something that is not really necessary to your story since it should already be implied since she is your sister.

    And then of course just a few awkward pauses and some “ands” and “ums” that could be cut out 🙂

  2. Erika Rattray March 17, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    You’re rough draft is great but I think you need to add transitions between your first guest speaker and your sister. I also thought your ending was a little cut short. It would be better if you had a little transition to the ending because it kind of cuts off unknowingly. Other than that I think it sounds great. Another thing I had a question about is do you have the rights to the music at the beginning of the song. If you don’t I think you should cite it or ask the professor what you need to do if you wanted to add sound to the beginning of your audio story. Other than that I thought than that I thought the content was great. I thought it was really neat that you added your sister’s perspective. I can’t wait to see what your final draft looks like. The only thing I would be worried about it that it doesn’t sound like an interview because the professor emailed us about that.

  3. cristobalash March 19, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    Your audio clip is very interesting so far. I like how you plan to add more interviews with friends or family so we can get a better feel of who you are and what your passionate about. I enjoyed the music in the beginning and think it would be a good idea to add music too which you mentioned in your post. I think music would really bring the whole audio clip to life and make it fun to listen to. Some of the audio that you have from the interview sounds like it is coming from over the phone and I’m not sure if it is or if that is your intention but I think it might be cool to add you saying something about that if you are talking to them over the phone. Kind of like when people are calling into a radio station and the hosts refer to them as callers and mention where they are from and what not. Hopefully that makes sense haha but so far it sounds great and I’m sure the final product will be wonderful!

  4. heatheramwilson March 19, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    Hello again,
    I’m happy with my final draft audio story. There are a couple things I need to improve before my final draft is finished. I want to better incorporate music and add more interviews. After I decided what the message of my audio story was it was easier to put together. To understand me is to understand how my friends perceive me, which is the point of my ‘About Me’ blog.
    I want to focus on the people I’ve met through college because those are the people who’re helping me decide what I’ll do with my life after graduation. My family is also a huge factor in my decisions too. These are the people I’m focusing on to obtain footage.
    Another part of my audio story that bugs me is there isn’t a real end or wrap-up to the story. In some ways I like this because it keeps my story open, especially since life is ever changing. But in some ways it bothers me because I’m the kind of person who likes to see follow through and an obvious end to projects.
    Wish me luck on the final project!

  5. maxanatas March 19, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    Hello, this is Manami.

    I like that you selected one person who is very close to you for your entire life and the conversations helped us out to get what kind of person you are.
    I would like to know more fun side if you can because the story is talking about your academic things, so it was hard to figure your personality out from this interview.

    Also, I would suggest that if you can put some sounds when you sum up the audio because you put a sound at the beginning.

    My audio has noises as well and I know it is hard to eliminate and make a volume balance between noises and voices, but if you can make the audio clearer, it would be better for viewers because it sounds more professional.
    I look forward listening to your final version because you put more interviews and they will help us out to get you know more. I hope you can make the audio within 4 minutes!

    I hope my advice will help you out.
    Good luck!

Leave a comment